Previous Next Play Pause
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Welcome to OSU Medical Physics!

Medical Physics Laboratory (Dr. Jongmin Cho)

Medical physics consists of three sub-fields: Radiation therapy physics, medical imaging physics, and nuclear medicine physics, which revolve around cancer treatment (radiotherapy) and cancer imaging (diagnosis).

The OSU Medical Physics Laboratory is composed of a multinational team of researchers from all around the world with diverse scientific backgrounds including medical physics, computer science, biomedical engineering, animal science and nanotechnology. Upon the completion of their didactic/clinical/research training in our CAMPEP accredited medical physics program, all trainees (MS/PhD students and post-doctoral fellows) are expected to serve cancer patients as licensed medical professionals (medical physicists or residents). During the early stages of their career, they are expected to obtain board certifications from the American Board of Radiology (ABR) which is one of 24 American Board of Medical Specialties.

Due to the clinical nature of medical physics, our laboratory focuses on translational (bench-to-bedside) pre-clinical research. In particular, the treatment verification of radiotherapy is one of our focuses in order to increase the effectiveness of radiotherapy while reducing its side-effects. We also investigate gold nanoparticles and other novel hybrid nanoparticles as radiosensitizers to enhance cancer treatment as well as molecular imaging tracers for cancer diagnosis and image-guided drug delivery.

The Medical Physics Laboratory consists of four research divisions with investigators in each division located in independent but adjacent lab spaces.
     1) Monte Carlo simulation / computation division.
     2) Instrument and detector development division.
     3) Cell-culture lab and radiobiology division.
     4) Radiochemistry lab and nanotechnology division.

Most of our projects are carried out from the collaborative efforts of all four research divisions.